Our Diocese

The Diocese of Youngstown

Cathedral exteriorThe Catholic Diocese of Youngstown was established on May 15, 1943, and was canonically erected on July 22, 1943. Located in Northeast Ohio, the diocese includes six counties; Ashtabula, Columbiana, Mahoning, Portage, Stark and Trumbull. This area totals 3,404 square miles. The Catholic population of the diocese numbers 183,501 ( out of a total population of 1,185,766).

Clergy & Religious

Clergy of the diocese number 102 diocesan clergy and 18 religious order clergy. Some of these priests, however, work outside the diocese in a variety of ministries such as a military chaplain or director of a national organization. Priests may be on “leave of absence” for a variety of reasons. Retired clergy (43) may live inside or outside the diocese. Although retired from active ministry, these senior priests are a valuable resource as they offer their services when needed to help in parishes by celebrating the Liturgy and Sacraments.

Permanent Deacons (67), Religious Brothers (11) and Religious Women (211) also serve the people of the Church of Youngstown in various capacities.


There are 88 parishes and a mission located in the diocese. Six high schools and 29 elementary schools serve 7,313 parochial students. The Catholic students not enrolled in parochial schools are served through parish religious education programs (9,184 elementary, 2,428 high school students). One Catholic university is located in the diocese, serving students.

Charity & Healthcare

Catholic Charities Services meet the needs of those less fortunate through social service agencies, housing assistance, prison ministry, care for the aged, and more. For those with medical needs, three Catholic hospitals serve patients’ physical and spiritual needs.

Diocesan Offices

At the Central Services, or Chancery Office, departments with 90 employees, including clergy, religious and lay, serve the needs of the people of the Church of Youngstown by offering programs, services and information to parishes and parishioners. These needs range from providing basic information to implementing religious education programs, to providing insurance coverage for parishes and institutions.

The diocesan newspaper, The Catholic Exponent, reaches 36,000 homes.

Mission Statement

Cathedral of St ColumbaWe are people of God in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Youngstown. Blessed with a rich variety of backgrounds and talents, we are a living reflection of the Universal Church.

Through our baptism, we continue Christ’s mission to further the kingdom of God through the human family. We share our living faith by proclaiming the Gospel in word and example. Together we celebrate Christ’s presence in worship and sacraments.

In a spirit of justice, mercy and love, we dedicate ourselves not only to minister to the people in the six counties of northeastern Ohio but also to minister to the world community.